Graduate Academic Policies and Procedures Committee 2018-2019

University Committee - Faculty Members Serve Three-Year Terms

Meetings are held from 3-5pm in IG Greer Rm 224 (unless otherwise noted) on:

Monday, September 17, 2018

Monday, October 15, 2018

Monday, November 19, 2018

Monday, January 28, 2019

Monday, February 18, 2019

Monday, March 18, 2019

Monday, April 15, 2019   


2018 - 2019DepartmentCollege Term
Bradley Nash, Jr. SOCA&S2021
Will CanuPSYA&S2020
Susan StaubENGA&S2020
Tracy SmithCICOE2020
Ece KaratanBIOA&S2020
Audrey DentithEDLCOE2019
Alecia JacksonLESCOE2020
Onur InceECOCOB2021
David ShowsMKTCOB2020
Marie HoepflTEDFAA2020
Scott CollierHESHS2019
Sandi LaneNUT/HCMHS2021
Victor MansureMUSMUS2019
Jennifer NataleLIBLIB2021
Kathleen SmithGraduate StudentGSAS2019
Non-Voting Members   
Dru HensonAssociate DeanArts & SciencesEx officio
Robert SandersAssociate DeanGraduate SchoolEx officio
Debbie Race Registrar's Office 
Patty Dale Registrar's Office 
Laura PadgettDirectorGraduate SchoolEx officio
Terry RawlsExecutive DirectorDistance EducationEx officio
Karen FletcherDirectorOffice of ResearchEx officio
Nickolas JordanAssociate DeanEducationEx officio
Max PooleDeanGraduate SchoolEx officio
Dontrell ParsonDirectorGraduate SchoolEx officio
Sandra VannoyAssociate DeanBusinessEx officio
William PeltoDeanMusicEx officio
Phyllis KlodaDeanFine & Applied ArtsEx officio
Gary McCulloughAssociate DeanHealth SciencesEx officio
Ben PowellChairUndergraduate AP&PEx Officio
Dale WheelerFaculty Senate Representative  



Membership Lists:


 Link to Graduate Academic Polocies and Procedures Committee's Home Page

Faculty Handbook Graduate Academic Policies and Procedures Committee

(a) All proposals originate within the program and are approved by both the department and the college review committee prior to submission to the Graduate Academic Policies and Procedures Committee.

(b) Members on the Graduate Academic Policies and Procedures Committee: 14 – 13 Faculty holding full graduate faculty status, excluding affiliate members, and one graduate student as voting members. The faculty voting members shall include at least one faculty member from each college or school offering graduate programs and the Library, with additional faculty members to be based on the current proportion of full graduate faculty in the colleges or schools. The graduate student member shall be selected by the Graduate Student Association Senate (GSAS). The ex-officio non-voting membership of the Graduate Committee shall include the graduate dean and associate dean, the chair of the Undergraduate Academic Policies and Procedures Committee (or his/her designee), and one person from each of the following areas: dean’s office in each college/school, Registrar, Distance Education, Office of Research, Division of Enrollment Management, and Faculty Senate’s Academic Policy Committee. The provost and executive vice chancellor, or his/her designee, will convene the first meeting and facilitate the selection of a chair, or co-chairs, from among the voting members of the committee.

(c) Report to: the provost and executive vice chancellor.

(d) Areas of Responsibility: graduate curriculum, policies affecting graduate programs, appeals concerning academic matters coming from graduate programs in any college/school, department, members of the faculty or students and matters referred to it by the provost and executive vice chancellor or the chancellor.

(e) The Graduate Academic Policies and Procedures Committee will send its agenda to the entire faculty at least six working days prior to a scheduled meeting.